Home  >  News  >  Track & Field  >  2010

Bev Newing new u-20 record - Max Farnell 1cm short of record

On a day when 8 club championships were contested - all at 300m - Bev Newing and Charlotte Burnett made club history as the first IEK u-20 females to contest the 300m sprint, with Bev emerging IEK club champion in a pioneering record time[img:637r] of 53.6 seconds. Max Farnell had a bitter-sweet day : first, a disastrous 100m where a rival raced in front of him (in Max's lane!) for all of 95 metres.... then a super long jump of 4.52m, just 1cm short of the 17 year-old u-13 club record. The u-17 Men provided the tightest 300m of the day when Chris Monticolombi was crowned club champion over Dan Langridge, both recording identical times. Annabel Carter weathered Megan Eeles' storming first half and then held off Laura Clark's final surge, to become 2010 u-17 club 300m champion. [img:638l]The list of 2010 club champions at 300m includes Rhiannon Wallwork & Elliot Burt (both u-13) Lilly Coward & Jaffer Adams (both u-15) and evergreen Martin Kelk, vet-40. Pictured right are our volunteers at the registration desk and left, Track judges Dave Weston and Gilien Davison, who will tell you the races were just a blur... For all results, click 'quick link' grey tab (RIGHT) 'IEK Open Meetings'