Home  >  News  >  Road  >  2019

Canterbury 10 Race Report 2019

Abel Tsegay wins the SsangYong Canterbury 10 Mile Road Race for a record fifth consecutive time.


The 2019 SsangYong Canterbury 10 Mile Road Race which was run in windy conditions on Sunday 27th January, resulted in a fifth victory in a row for Invicta East Kent AC’s Abel Tsegay. Fast times were hard to come by and his winning time of 53m 51sec, was nearly 3 minutes slower than in 2018. Although establishing a lead early on, he was caught after 4 miles by fast improving Medway and Maidstone athlete Jay Smith. They battled closely until Tsegay surged just before 8 miles and built a comfortable lead in the last 2 miles. Smith finished second in a personal best of 54m 25sec. Third finisher was former Invicta Athlete and budding triathlete James Lane-Pitcher from Adalta CC in 55m 57sec who moved away from Sage Pearce-Higgins (Thames Valley Harriers) and Tom Millard (South Kent Harriers) in the closing stages. 

The ladies race was closely contested, with Lisa Tang visiting from Tyneside Harriers in Newcastle, setting an early pace. She was overhauled just after half way by Kent AC’s Teresa Murphy. Murphy opened a large gap during the second half of the race and finished in a time of 64m 28sec. As Tang faded, she was being tracked by Charlotte Bates of Maidstone Harriers, who by the finish had closed the gap and only a final burst kept Tang in second place with them both finishing in 66m 41sec.

For the fourth year in succession, record numbers of runners turned out to take part in this long standing event, with it being a sell-out 3 weeks before race day. There were 1500 entrants and 1411 finishers, with the race continuing to be the largest event of its kind in East Kent. Title sponsorship was once again by Korean Car Brand SsangYong, and the event was based at the regular race HQ, Christ Church University Sports Centre.


The event charity was once again Pilgrims Hospices. This year the ties with the event were made closer with 25 sponsored runners taking part. This was to raise funds in addition to a cheque for £ 1,500.00 donated by Invicta East Kent AC and collected by Pilgrims Hospices Event Organiser Lydia Todd.

Despite the windy weather conditions, the runners of all abilities were determined to complete the course, with many achieving personal goals. There were also a substantial number of spectators who lined the picturesque route.


There were various age group winners as follows :

Men V40 Dan Madams (Tonbridge AC) 59m 14sec
Men V50 Richard Tomlinson (Medway & Maidstone AC) 60m 19sec
Men V60 Roger Hyland (Southern Counties Vets AC) 68m 49sec
Men V70 David Winch (Thanet Roadrunners) 73m 18sec

Ladies V35 Hannah Roberts (Petts Wood Runners) 69m12sec
Ladies V45 Geraldine Schaer (Petts Wood Runners) 68m 06sec
Ladies V55 Christine Costiff (Ashford & District RRC) 74m 40sec
Ladies V65 Helen Neary (Wadhurst Runners) 94m 53sec


In the Men’s team race, Folkestone AC (Ian McGilloway, Dan Voller, David Tyler & Torben Jessen) came in first, overcoming strong opposition from Tunbridge Wells Harriers and Canterbury Harriers.  In the Ladies team race, Kent AC (Teresa Murphy, Ali Farrall and Victoria Buck) won, despite being closely challenged by Petts Wood Runners.


Race Director Glenn Mousley said : “the race ran smoothly despite the windy conditions with some excellent performances. Abel Tsegay once again showed he is the man to beat. In the ladies race it was good to have Teresa Murphy as a new winner and we hope to welcome them both back next year.”