Home  >  Scrapbook  >  Road  >  2011

Dartford Half Marathon   -   Sunday 24 July 2011

... Trevor Edeley retains Kent vet-60 Title

   ... Janice Moorekite 3rd vet-50 and Tony Piersall 24th vet-60

      ... Gavin Knight 21st vet-50 in his first "Half" in IEK red

The inaugural Dartford Half Marathon (1977) was won in 65mins 38secs by Steve Ovett who became Olympic 800m champion in Moscow 3 years later.

Dean Lacey (Cambridge Harriers) won the 2011 Dartford "Half" in 71:33 with IEK evergreen collector of Kent Road championship titles Trevor Edgley 59th in 89:54, earning him the Kent vet-60 Half Marathon title which he first won in 2008 at the same venue in 88:10.

Gavin Knight marked his Half Marathon debut in IEK red clocking 1 hr 42.34 in 224th, making him the 21st of 64

male vet-50s in in a field of 692 finishers

Former international road runner Janice Moorekite has twice won the Dartford "Half" in IEK colours - 1995 in 80:46 and also 1998 in 82:45 - in 2011 Janice was 3rd Female vet-50 in 1hr 56.22 when crossing the line 416th overall

IEK Club Secretary Tony Piersall runs Half Marathons when he's not leading training sessions for the club's thriving u-11 squad - Tony was 24th male vet-60 (660th overall) in 2hrs 28.09

No photographs of these events available

Click here to send photographs - original size please

Results Dartford Half Marathon 2011